Miami Marathon Training – Day 9 of training – 105 more to go

17 Oct

Today was rough! I had 19km (12miles) on the program. In order to avoid the excruciating heat I woke up at 7 o’clock (4 hours of sleep). I felt really good for the first 12km (7.5miles) or so. But then it started getting really hot i felt really dehydrated! It got so bad, that after 9 miles I started to see black spots and felt really dizzy. I interupted my run to drink almost 2 liters (half a gallon) of water straight before finishing the rest of the run on a treadmill. I have to start bringing a water bottle with me.

Anyway, today was good! After the run I took a bath in Epsom salt to get all the gunk out o my legs and to treat my blisters.

Next week is recovery week! 🙂

photo

4 Responses to “Miami Marathon Training – Day 9 of training – 105 more to go”

  1. Daniel Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 12:13 am #

    You need to use trislide spray before your runs, that will help avoiding blisters.

    • makkeboome Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

      Thank you Daniel,

      I will look into it.. but the blisters have been the least of my worries. The heat has been the worst. But everybody says that the winter is about to start here soon and it is supposed to be pretty mild. We’ll see ;)…

      How is the MoodBoostDrink going? I saw that you are offering online sales now! Any bigger distributor on the hook?

      Marco

  2. Nicolas Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    I can’t believe how you do that running in the Florida heat … I was near to death almost everyday this summer just by standing on deck.

    Keep going Marco … this is a great journey to follow!

    • makkeboome Tuesday, October 20, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

      Thank you Nicolas,

      It’s been pretty tough, but Fall has slowly started here now too. It was (only) 24C today… 😀

Leave a Reply

