Merry Christmas

27 Dec

Saturday (71st day of training / 42 to go):
We stayed the night in my wife’s grandmothers old house in Latexo, TX.  It was very neat to see where my mother-in-law grew up. After a short breakfast we hit the road towards Flower Mound, where we met up with more family to celebrate an early Christmas. (No running today.)

Sunday (72nd day / 41 to go):
I got up early today to run 6.5km (4miles) in the chilly North Texas weather.  It was magical to see the Texas sun rise. I don’t think I have woken that early to work out in 6 months.

Monday (73rd day / 40 to go):
The big day is coming closer and my foot still  hurts. I have vowed to myself to run at least one more 20-miler (32 kilometers) before January 31. (No running today.)

Tuesday (74th day / 39 to go):
Ah, Texas! It’s good to be here. I am getting first-class treatment by my mother-in-law and my ankle is feeling better every day. Today I ran 4.5 km (3 miles), shortly after I indulged in an original, Texas BBQ Sandwich. Tasty!

Wednesday (75th day / 38 to go):
Today, Kermit (my father-in-law) gave me a Runner’s World to read. Next to interesting training schedules, and running shoe reviews, they had a poll asking for the one thing that stresses runners out most before a big race. Ranked first: “A nagging injury!”  – No running today!

Thursday (76th day / 37 to go):
Christmas Eve, my first, real American one. We opened stockings and played board games. (No running.)

Friday (77th day / 36 to go):
I woke up with Kermit to go for an easy 5k run. My foot feels a lot better and I feel confident that I’ll be able to return to my original running schedule by January 1. Happy Birthday Jesus!

Leave a Reply

