Swimming Nostalgia

15 Jan

With only a few days left until the Miami Marathon I am getting a very familiar feeling; the “getting-ready-to-race feeling”. During taper week, when I was still swimming, my stomach would tingle when envisioning myself competing. It brings a big smile on my face to think of the good ol’ times. Here are some of my great swimming moments:

  • In 2002 I qualified for my first big international competition; the 2002 Junior European Championships in Linz:

    Marco in Linz 2002

    The picture was taken during warm-up in Linz.
  • In 2003 I was able to qualify again for the Junior European Championships, this time in Glasgow:
  • Got nominated for “two Basler Sport-Champions des Jahres” (2004/2005).

    (c) by Varadi: Taken at regional championships in Basel.

  • 2005: Choice to continue swimming career in the U.S. led to the making of the following video:
  • In 2006 I successfully competed at the NCAA Division II National Championships.
  • 2007 was one of the more successful years in my career – I competed for the Swiss National Team at the University Games in Bangkok:

    Picture taken during opening ceremony.
2 Responses to “Swimming Nostalgia”

  1. Jen Friday, January 15, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Wow…I do miss swimming. Thanks for posting! I may copy your idea and put something like this up one mine 🙂 I hope everything is going well! I miss you guys! Are you coming back to Utah anytime soon?

    • makkeboome Friday, January 15, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      Hey JEN!
      We hope we will be in Utah in June for Jeremy’s and Adam’s wedding (too bad they are not marrying each other, that would make some awkward swimmer babies ;))… check out my youtube page for more swimming related videos: http://www.youtube.com/makkeboome

Leave a Reply

