First Thoughts About My First Marathon

1 Feb

Holy Cow, did that hurt. I wasn’t sure what to expect, though I was sure it would cause some soreness, and maybe a few blisters; I didn’t not expect it to hurt that badly.

I started the Marathon off at 6:15 am with 18’000 fellow runners with the thought in mind to “take it easy at the beginning”. I therefore ignored the overly excited runners that zipped by me in the first few miles with the expectation that “I’ll definitely catch them on the homestretch”.

Passing the 5km mark at 27:02 gave me confidence that I was on track for a good time in the 3:30-3:40 range. Even when I passed the half-marathon mark (21km/13.1miles) with a time of 1:53 I was pretty certain I would at least break the 4 hour mark. Boy, was I wrong!

When I crossed the 30km/18mile, I felt like somebody pulled the plug out of my energy tank, and it all came draining out. My pace rapidly decreased and I got passed left and right by middle-aged men and women, and worst of all, 70+ year old Mr. Bilgutay. It was at that time that I realized that a sub 4hour time would be very hard to reach. So I adjusted my goal and swore that I would finish this darn race without stopping or walking, no matter how long it was going to take me. – I’m proud to say that I ran the whole thing, without stopping.

It took me 4 hours 8 minutes and 42 seconds to finish 42.195km / 26 miles and 385 yards. Here are some stats:

10k: 53:48 – 7:48 8:48 minutes /mile
30k: 2:49 – 9:06 minutes / mile

first half: 1:53 – 8:42 minutes / mile
second half: 2:15 – 10:18 minutes / mile

full: 4:08 – 9:30 minutes / mile

official time and splits here.

6 Responses to “First Thoughts About My First Marathon”

  1. marissa Monday, February 1, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    haha I totally know the feeling!! when i hit 18miles i thought i was going to die i couldnt feel my legs or hips but somehow we just keep chugging along. i swear all those hard swim practices mentally prepared me 🙂 maybe i will run #2 here soon. dem, adam, you and I need to all run one together. Congrats though on the finish!

  2. Ania Monday, February 1, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Marco!
    All i have to say is congrats buddy! It is such an amazing accomplishment and you should be so so so proud of yourself. Im kind of jealous, because I still have “run a marathon” on my “things to do before I die” list and you can already cross it off from yours.

    Great Job.

  3. Nicolas Monday, February 1, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Sorry I didn’t see you at the finish line! It was really crowded but I might was at the line when you got in. Was running around for little while in the runner zone afterwards but I had to go to UM to coach the Campers (we had a change of plans). But congrats on your amazing performance! Well done!

  4. Adam Monday, February 1, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    Congrats on not walking! I gotta say that I did my fair share of walking during the last 4 miles of mine. Meghan was cheering me on at mile 22. In her street shoes she was running right behind me,not even looking like she was trying! Apparently I wasn’t too too hard to keep up with at that point.

    It really is a special feeling to finish, congrats on that. Any chances you got another one in you some day?? Too soon to think about?

  5. bill Thursday, February 4, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Now you know why they tell you to go out slow!

  6. Pascal Pensa Tuesday, February 23, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Marathon is so much more fun if you go flat out front 🙂

    I know what you’ve been through. I hated every fekn second of it. Only that I cracked at K27.

Leave a Reply

